Monday, September 18, 2017

Nobel Prize - Quick View on Selection Process

Alfred Nobel, an inventor (dynamite) established the Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Between 1901 and 2016, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 579 times to 911 people and organizations. With some receiving the Nobel Prize more than once, this makes a total of 23 organizations and 881 individuals. 

The prize ceremonies take place annually in Stockholm, Sweden (with the exception of the peace prize, which is held in Oslo, Norway). Each recipient, or laureate, receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a sum of money that has been decided by the Nobel Foundation. As of 2017, each prize was worth 64104100.00 INR (US$1,000,000). 

List of Nobel Laureates since 1901

Interesting facts about September and Nobel Prize 

Nobel Prize winner - September Bron

Selection Process 

According to the statutes of the Nobel Foundation, a nomination is considered valid 
if it is submitted by a person who falls within one of the following categories: 

•        Members of national assemblies and national governments (cabinet members/ministers) of sovereign states as well as current heads of states 

•        Members of The International Court of Justice in The Hague and The Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague 
•        Members of Institut de Droit International 
•        University professors, professors emeriti and associate professor of history, social sciences, law, philosophy, theology, and religion; university rectors and university directors (or their equivalents); directors of peace research institutes and foreign policy institutes 
•        Persons who have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 
•        Members of the main board of directors or its equivalent for organizations that have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 
•        Current and former members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee (proposals by current members of the Committee to be submitted no later than at the first meeting of the Committee after 1 February) 
•        Former advisers to the Norwegian Nobel Committee 

Unless otherwise stated the term members shall be understood as current (sitting) members. 

Nomination forms are sent by the Nobel Committee to about 3,000 individuals, usually in September the year before the prizes are awarded. But Peace Prize, inquiries are sent to governments, former peace prize laureates current or former members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee. After all these nominations, the committee will decide the final 300 potential laureates but the nominees will not be disclosed to the public or informed to selected nominees.  All the Nobel nomination are sealed for 50 years from the awarding of the prize. 

Announcements of the 2017 Nobel Prizes 

The announcement of the Nobel Laureates and the Laureates in Economic Sciences for the year is made on the same day that the Nobel Prize awarding institutions choose from among the names recommended by the respective Nobel Committees.This year schedule has been constructed and the list has been prepared after voting completed and ready to announce in the press conference.

All the announcements will be broadcast live on

Click here for the full list of announcement schedules.

Nobel Prize Controversial 

All the Nobel Prize winners are deserved for it? an every mind thinks of it. We are seeing there are controversial on committee selections (eg., Henry Kissinger, Lê Ðuc Tho (declined the prize), Obama (2009)). But the controversial winners' selection only and not with all, particularly Peace prize and rarely on Literature and Science. For sure there are several selections which need to respect for selecting those. These Controversial confirms the political interfere there?. 

A point to be added in Nobel Prize? 

After receiving the Nobel prize, are those winners still deserve it (eg., Aung San Suu Kyi - The Nobel Peace Prize 1991) what happening in Myanmar Burma does not seems to the right choice. Suu Kyi received the award for “her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights” while standing up against military rulers. She became the country’s de facto leader after Myanmar held its first free election in 2012 and she led her party to a landslide victory.

Adding to it, former South African Archbishop Desmond Tutu urged her to intervene to stop the persecution of the Rohingya. In an open letter, he told his fellow Nobel Peace Prize winner that it is “incongruous for a symbol of righteousness” to lead a country where violence against the Rohingya is being carried out. 

There is no committee working to look after the status of Nobel prize winner, because if the Nobel Prize is sealed for 50 years of an announcement. Then there should be a verification needs until 50 years. If Nobel Laureates complaints are verified and proved, then the Nobel prize should be returned or get back from it.

(Source and Thanks to 
Previous Post
Next Post

1 comment:

This Site has been created managed by Mohamed Wahith. Reach out me Powered by Blogger.

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Total Pageviews

About Me

My photo
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
I'm Mohamed Wahith, having education qualification of M.Sc Information Technology. Working as Tech Lead in BNP PARIBAS INDIA SOLUTION, Chennai. I've created this site with no experience in website building but as a quora user, I took advantage of creating this site and got more encouragement but not only consider positive post also read negative. This site was created with an idea of sharing more information on teachnology trending,focus on estore offers and listing out more for Women's stuff. I'd like end with a quote "What you need is; What's others need as well". Save Water,Save Earth (worth mentioning) Save Humanity !.